FREE gift

Sign up for our eNews and get this fantastic eBook for free.

Get the FREE eBook
Strine: Australian
Slang, what you need
to know but are
afraid to ask...

22 pages full of must
know Australian
slang from 'aggro' to
'zack' and heaps in between.

Australian Climate

Things you should know before you move to Australia.

Key points:

  • The Australian climate is not just hot – it offers a climate to suit everyone across its eight states and territories
  • Situated in the southern hemisphere, Australia’s seasons are at opposite times to the northern hemisphere
  • Australia’s tropical region also has a ‘wet’ and a ‘dry’ season
  • Australia’s north is hotter, where its tropics and outback are located
  • Australia’s south is typically cooler, with the southern most state, Tasmania, receiving an icy breeze from Antarctica

So you’re thinking about making the move to Australia and are wondering what the Australian climate is like.

Map of Australia highlighting the different climates

Well, whether you prefer cooler weather, like it scorching hot or are happy living somewhere in between, Australia has the climate to suit everyone.

But isn’t Australia just hot?

Contrary to popular belief, Australia isn’t just home to hot weather. Across eight states and territories and nearly 7.7 million square kilometres, the climate in Australia varies considerably. While some enjoy the warming sunshine at the beach, others rug up against the cold in the mountains, while others still experience the dry desert heat up north.

Lying in the southern hemisphere, Australia’s seasons are opposite those in the northern hemisphere. Summer is from December to February, Autumn from March to May, Winter from June to August and Spring from September to November.

There’s also a ‘wet’ and a ‘dry’ season in Australia’s northern tropical areas. The wet season occurrs between November and April, and the dry season between May and October.

If you prefer hotter weather, then you will most likely prefer Australia’s north. Northern Australia encompasses desert and tropical regions across three states and territories – Western Australia, the Northern Territory and Queensland.

Meanwhile, for those that prefer milder weather, Australia’s southern states are for you. Including Victoria, Tasmania and South Australia, the south typically offers a steady, cooler climate.

Wherever you choose to move, thanks to the varying Australian climate, a warm or cooler atmosphere is only a short trip, or couple of months, away.

Climate details for Australian States:

Read about Australia's Tropical Cyclone season.

Explore Australia 101...