FREE gift

Sign up for our eNews and get this fantastic eBook for free.

Get the FREE eBook
Strine: Australian
Slang, what you need
to know but are
afraid to ask...

22 pages full of must
know Australian
slang from 'aggro' to
'zack' and heaps in between.

Australian Captial Territory

Map of Australia highlighting Australian Capital Territory

Population: 344,200 (June 2008)

Capital: Canberra

Area: 2, 358 square kilometres

Incumbent Political Party: Labor

Attractions: Parliament House, Lake Burley Griffin, High Court of Australia, National Gallery of Australia, Yarralumla (governor-general's residence).

About ACT

The Australian Capital Territory (ACT) is located in the south east of NSW, west of the Great Dividing Range. It is home to Australia's capital, Canberra.

The territory was created specifically for this task when during the excitement of federation in 1901, arguments raged over the location of the national capital.

Today, government business makes up 31% of the ACT's gross state capital.

Related Links:

ACT Climate

Explore Australia 101...